The Seven Sacraments

“The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life” (Catechism, 1210).

Sacraments of Initiation

“The sacraments of Christian Initiation – Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist – lay the foundations of every Christian life…The faithful are born anew by Baptism, strengthened by the sacrament of Confirmation, and receive in the Eucharist the food of eternal life. By means of these sacraments of Christian initiation, they thus receive in increasing measures the treasures of the divine life and advance toward the perfection of charity” (Catechism 1212).




Sacraments of Healing

“The Lord Jesus Christ, physician of our souls and bodies, who forgive the sins of the paralytic and restored him to bodily health, has willed that his Church continue, in the power of the Holy Spirit, his work of healing and salvation, even among her own members. This is the purpose of the two sacraments of healing; the sacrament of Penance (Reconciliation) and the sacrament of Anointing of the Sick” (Catechism 1421).

Reconciliation (Confession)

Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Vocation

“Two other sacraments, Holy Orders and Matrimony, are directed towards the salvation of others…They confer a particular mission in the Church and serve to build up the people of God.

Those who receive the sacrament of Holy Orders are consecrated in Christ’s name ‘to feed the Church by the word and grace of God.’ On their part, ‘Christian spouses are fortified and, as it were, consecrated for the duties and dignity of their sate by a special sacrament.'” (Catechism 1534, 1535).


Holy Orders